Concept- Tanya
Beginning kabbalah from here!
Beginning kabbalah with kabbalah products
World Wide Free Shipping !
Beginning Kabbalah > Concepts of Kabbalah > Tanya


Unlike other Chassidic Teachings this is a systematic exposition of Rabbi Shneur Salman's Philosophy. It deals with Jewish Spirituality and Kabbalah. The Basis of this work deals with spiritual service of G'd with the background of Kabbalah and Hasidic philosophy.

In Tanya are 5 levels of Divine Service:

  1. The completely righteous person (Zaddik) has transformed his animal soul to the point that it is able to reach G'dly delight and disgust by all wordly pleasures.
  2. The incomplete Zaddik does not want evil that will be expresses externally even in thought but a small amount of evil remains.
  3. The average, intermediate one possesses an animalistic soul with evil desire. He still manages to stay away from sin in action which is a struggle.
    This struggle is between animalistic soul and divine soul.
  4. The incomplete rasha (evil man) sinned without doing Tshuva while also doing good deeds.
  5. The total rasha(wicked man) sins so often that no action or speech is controlled by the divine soul. He is controlled by the animalistic soul.

Likkutei Amarim was published without the writers name in 1797.
Later came additional writings of Rabbi Salman.

His latest version of his work from 1814 has 5 parts:

  1. Sefer ha Beinonim- Book of the Average Men describing the union of a Jew with G'd through the Mitzvot. With that man can reach the love and fear of G'd. It is an approach of Chabad to gain emotional refinement through praying. Such a sensation must come from intellectual understanding of the spiritual service.Chabad is a name and a short version of 3 intellectual forces: Chochmah, Binad, Daat.
  2. Shaar ha Ichud veha Emuna- Gateway of Unity& Belief shows that even though creation is different from creator they are a unit. Further it explains that all forces come from Gd even though it seems that he uses different powers to create the world.
  3. Iggeret ha Tshuvah-Letters of Repentance)- Known as Tanya ha Katan describes Repentance and that it can lead the repenting person to a more elevated place than before sinning.
  4. Iggeret ha Kodesh(Letter of Holiness) That Part was not published till 1814 after Rabbi Salmans death. The book is a collection of letters that he wrote to his students and communities where he dealt about the commandments mystical aspects.
  5. Kuntres Acharon- Last Thesis-This Book was also not published till the Rabbis death. In the letters are his resolve of seeming controversies in the jewish mystique. This work gets deeper into mystical matters.

His first book is more concerned with divine service while others get more into Kabbalah.

Tanya is also considered to be the written Torah of Hasidic Philosophy since it is the first work of this philosophy in contrast of the Baal Shem Tov and the Maggid of Mezrith.
We can learn from here that all the Hasiduts teachings are extended from Tanya.


Find us on Facebook

FREE GIFT - Kabbalah Red String

Kabbalah & Jewish Jewlery on Sales


Ask the Rabbi

Receive updates of
sales & articles.